1. #1

    Lightbulb Accessing Vedeena, Neocron's Public Test Server.

    Vedeena is our Public Test Server, allowing the Neocron Support Team and the Community to work together in testing upcoming changes to the main Neocron server Titan.

    Please be mindful that this is a test server and not the main way to play Neocron. Your items, characters and anything else you may hold dear on Vedeena can be reset, changed or removed at any time.

    If you’re looking to simply play the latest intended version of Neocron, you should be connecting to the Titan server with your normal Neocron game client.

    How can you access Vedeena, Neocron’s Public Test Server?
    Follow the latest instruction in the the thread How to get onto Vedeena

    Where can I find out what has changed in Vedeena Patches?
    We will post Vedeena Patch Notes in their own threads in the Vedeena Announcements & Updates forum section.

    How do I report bugs?
    Please check the Bug Reports Forum, to see if this bug has already been reported. If it has not, please provide as much information as possible after you have verified the bug. You should consider answering these questions before raising a new Bug Reports:
    • Can I reproduce the bug?
    • Which circumstances lead to the bug?
    • Are other able to reproduce the bug?
    • What happens exactly? What are the consequences of this bug?
    • Can I illustrate this bug in videos or screenshots? (Please do! It helps a lot!)
    • Which zones/which part of the game is affected?


    Can I easily level a character so I can spend more time testing?
    Yes. From many of the game’s main locations, you will find a terminal to teleport you to the ‘Neocronstruct’. Think of this as the “guns, lots of guns” scene from The Matrix. Here you’ll find everything you’ll need to test your character and the changes made to the game on Vedeena.
    Last edited by Bifrost; 20-02-17 at 23:47.
    Trivaldi
    Neocron Support Team
    N E O C R O N - G A M E . C O M

    »I'm in a glass case of emotion!«

    DOWNLOAD NEOCRON • PLAY NEOCRON • FACEBOOK • TWITTER • IRC • GET SUPPORT • FORUM RULES • RULES OF CONDUCT

  2. #2
    Registered User Drake6k's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 2002
    Location
    Pluto
    Posts
    3,008

    Default

    Maybe add the transfer page to this post or another sticky.
    https://transfer.neocron-game.com/
    Bad Dragon
    Jack Drake
    Run
    My Ppu
    Nipple Goblin

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Drake6k View Post
    Maybe add the transfer page to this post or another sticky.
    https://transfer.neocron-game.com/
    Where can I do the transfer, site is down?

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Odimara Orca View Post
    Where can I do the transfer, site is down?
    It's back.
    Bifrost
    Neocron Support Team
    N E O C R O N - G A M E . C O M

    »What's that coming over the hill? Is it a Warbot?«

    DOWNLOAD NEOCRON • PLAY NEOCRON • FACEBOOK • TWITTER • DISCORD • GET SUPPORT • FORUM RULES • RULES OF CONDUCT

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bifrost View Post
    It's back.
    Thank you!

    But now I got the error "Problems by retrieving Characters"

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Odimara Orca View Post
    Thank you!

    But now I got the error "Problems by retrieving Characters"
    So any news?

  7. #7
    Neocron > Neocron2 RuNmAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 2002
    Location
    Φsterreich
    Posts
    575

    Default

    Login doesn't work for me - after pressing "Enter", the message "requesting server info" appears, then it jumps back to the login screen without any error message. Complete reinstall of the client did not solve the problem. Any info on that?

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RuNmAN View Post
    Login doesn't work for me - after pressing "Enter", the message "requesting server info" appears, then it jumps back to the login screen without any error message. Complete reinstall of the client did not solve the problem. Any info on that?
    same problem here. Already tried running as administrator and adding exceptions to the windows firewall (even tried to entirely turn it off) but nothing helped.

  9. #9
    i carry a laaaazer......blade gstyle40's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 2004
    Location
    Stuck on a m'fn plane wit some m'fn snakes ><
    Posts
    402

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by scientit/Bamboo View Post
    same problem here. Already tried running as administrator and adding exceptions to the windows firewall (even tried to entirely turn it off) but nothing helped.
    same here
    [Signature removed - please see the forum rules on signature sizes]

  10. #10

    Default

    Have you reinstalled your test server client using the new launcher?
    Trivaldi
    Neocron Support Team
    N E O C R O N - G A M E . C O M

    »I'm in a glass case of emotion!«

    DOWNLOAD NEOCRON • PLAY NEOCRON • FACEBOOK • TWITTER • IRC • GET SUPPORT • FORUM RULES • RULES OF CONDUCT

  11. #11
    Neocron > Neocron2 RuNmAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 2002
    Location
    Φsterreich
    Posts
    575

    Default

    Yes - latest launcher from the website

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RuNmAN View Post
    Yes - latest launcher from the website
    Does that means this: https://forum.neocron-game.com/showt...-(10-Jul-2017) ?
    Trivaldi
    Neocron Support Team
    N E O C R O N - G A M E . C O M

    »I'm in a glass case of emotion!«

    DOWNLOAD NEOCRON • PLAY NEOCRON • FACEBOOK • TWITTER • IRC • GET SUPPORT • FORUM RULES • RULES OF CONDUCT

  13. #13
    Neocron > Neocron2 RuNmAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 2002
    Location
    Φsterreich
    Posts
    575

    Default

    Yes. I followed all the instructions and installed both clients - test and retail - with admin rights. Currently located in C:\Games\Neocron PTS and ...\Neocron CE\. I'am also able to play on the retail server. I have done a pingtest to both servers (gameserverip from updater.ini) but I'am not able to reach the testserver (144.76.177.3) - retail works.

  14. #14

    Default

    I am told there is a wider issue at play here, which is causing this to happen for a few individuals. We're working to resolve the issue but it is proving problematic to isolate and at the moment we cannot say when this will be fixed.
    Trivaldi
    Neocron Support Team
    N E O C R O N - G A M E . C O M

    »I'm in a glass case of emotion!«

    DOWNLOAD NEOCRON • PLAY NEOCRON • FACEBOOK • TWITTER • IRC • GET SUPPORT • FORUM RULES • RULES OF CONDUCT

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •