PDA

View Full Version : My new computer

Zanathos
27-04-04, 14:59
I just purchased a computer from Staples. It was 850 bucks Canadian.

I already know its not a very good gaming PC.

2.8 GHz Intel Celeron
Intel Extreme Graphics card (64 MB)
512 MB SD Ram
Windows XP
unsure on BUS speed. or any other relevant information.

i dont know the full stats for it.

Its not very good for games at all, quake III has troubles running on full details on this compuer..... most of my games run fine with the details down all the way though, ranging from call of duty to quake III.

What i am wondering is, what would make the most improvement for the least amount of money? a new video card? I already have one in mind.

later on when i get the money i plan to upgrade the processor, motherboard, power supply, get a new case, and better and more ram. (1 GB of DDR Ram probably) the processor will probably be an intel pentium 4 with hyper threading or maybe an intel xeon processor.

I am no expert on computer hardware but I am learning alot in this course at school.

would a better video card help it the most?

(BTW, this computer was a birthday present to me, and I plan to upgrade it when i get a job)

birthday was yesturday :p GO ME! 19 now :)

extract
27-04-04, 15:03
unsure on BUS speed. or any other relevant information.D

raise up for the celeron crew!

im pullin bout 100mhz myself

sir retail
27-04-04, 15:09
Hi m8.

Okey the best for you is what you did think already..

you need to buff the Video card. That will give you the best improvement.
but. you would like to w8 for about 1 month..
ATI and Nvidia are comming soon with the newest series. Those will rock the world, but they will not be cheap..

but the good news is that the "old" models will go down in price.

good luck .. :D

extract
27-04-04, 15:11
I would personally trash the ram first, I can live with shotty graphics, then again Im in more audio applications than I am in games anyways.....

Ozambabbaz
27-04-04, 15:11