PDA

View Full Version : Sophie Ellis Bumsexx0r's guide to leveling in the Chaos Caves!

metalangel
27-04-04, 03:08
I play in the Chaos Caves a lot, both as a PPU and fighter, so I've got plenty of experience on both sides of the action. Here's some pointers to make your experience better both for you and your fellow cavers. Happy grinding!

http://www.torridaffair.org/seb/jw/t03.jpeg

Obvious stuff:
-wear a poison belt. Duh.
-bring enough ammo to last several runs!

Less obvious stuff:
-unless you're specifically trying to milk the run for all it's worth, KILL THE LIEUTENANTS FIRST. Otherwise, you'll be suffering from its massively painful hits, and it'll spawn tons of minions who can quickly overwhelm you. Similarly, if you're pushed back by the mobs, go for the Lieutenant... once it's dead, you can mop up.
-don't jump back in as soon as everyone's vacated the cave... give the mobs time to have lots of babies :lol:

For APUs:
-don't fucking barrel your team. Seriously. First, take some accuracy lessons. If you see someone is enjoying getting up close to attack, don't barrel because they might suddenly rush in just as your barrel hits, and you'll kill them too. Secondly, don't barrel anything you could piss on. You'll probably do yourself as much injury as any teammembers standing near you.
-watch your fire... don't accidentally holy fire halo a teammate, they'll know it wasn't a mob that killed them.
-don't barrel in close combat without warning your team... feel free to barrel the small siderooms provided you can keep the area effect contained in the room itself.

For PPUs:
-don't start rezzing a fallen person when the rest of the team is locked in combat. They need you to keep their buffs and health up - neglect them now and in 30 seconds you'll have two more people to rezz. Once the local area is clear, start to rezz.
-don't waste time on Shelter or Deflector... waste of your PSI, and not really effective.