PDA

View Full Version : Some thoughts about levelling new characters

Capt. Rik
15-03-04, 22:38
I decided about 2 months ago I decided to use the other 3 character slots available on Saturn. I've been levelling my tank for about 9 months and although I still enjoy playing him, needing 4.5 million exp till the next str level is not fun. I've done pretty much everything with my tank (most epics, tagged every GR, been everywhere) but not been to MC5.

So, i've started 3 new characters and I thought i'd share my experiences with levelling them:

BTW: All these chars are ultimately going to become DRE to join my clan (after doing certain epics etc.)

Char 1 - Rifle Spy (Faction: DRE)

Well, we were short of Op hackers so I thought a hacking Spy seemed like a good idea. First impressions were that going straight from playing a tank to becoming a spy isn't the best transition. Died a few times from over zealously chasing rats and poisonous plants.
Went onto the aggie cellars and managing to level DEX and INT quite well. Die so ridiculously easy tho even to the aggies. Levelling PSI seems tricky (i've just managed to get TL3 heal!)
Got my hack up to 100 and i'm now using a Tangent Sniper Rifle and Gatling Rifle.
I got bored quite quickly at this point. I'm not hard enough to get remotely close to anything that gives me decent experience and using a sniper rifle it just so slow and time consuming that it's depressing.

Still, he's now /27 and i occasionaly log him on to hack a belt or two and the occasional Op layer.

Char 2 - Pistol PE (Faction: PP)

I've read a lot of posts over the last year about PE's and their skills. I'd been wanting to try one for ages and since i'd never even picked up a pistol before, i thought it would be fun to try.
Immediately I was impressed with the class. From the start I could level up extremely quickly and within a day I was happily solo'ing aggies. I decided to make him an implanter and a hacker as it is possible with pistols.