PDA

View Full Version : Ingame-Forums/Citycom - do they need to be redone?

sparrowtm
20-02-04, 15:34
Hey,

a few days ago, I started a poll on the German board asking if people would be opposed to a patch that for once would not focus on PvP/balance issues, but on something different - the ingame-forums.

The results were as follows:

61 voted for the CityCom/ingame-forums to become patch priority soon.
5 voted against that idea.

Now I wondered if the English community had the same point of view, so here's a translation of said poll:

---

If I'm not totally wrong, the Neocron ingame-forum concept (or the CityCom in general) is still unique in the world of MMORPGs. It is fitting the sci-fi scenario of Neocron very well. If only it was not as bugged as if Bill Gates was still in charge 700 years in the future.

I started playing Neocron in November 2002. Since then, various attempts were made to stabilize, improve and debug the ingame-forums. Yet, the only results were new and/or different bugs.

What would the benefits of a nice and well working forum be?

1.) Many threads regarding ingame-politics posted on the offgame-forums would be obsolete. People do it now because there is no other way to vent and discuss things. Our mod's famous saying "keep it ingame" would actually start to have a meaning. New customers would not panic about the attitude of people on our boards (they'd find out later ingame :p)

2.) Roleplaying would be encouraged - advertisements, services, bounty threads and events could be properly presented to the server population - in addition to reaching those that don't browse the offgame forums on a regular basis.

3.) Atmosphere - I can't really believe that the government of Neocron was not able to fix their primary communication system since 30-ingame years (hey .. wait .. that's Tangents job .. you lazy bastards)

Point of this thread: