PDA

View Full Version : What's happened to NC ?

=TCE=^Raven^
11-02-04, 08:35
I started playing NC back when it first came out in the UK, about 15 months ago. At that time it was not long out of beta, the servers were busy with noobs exploring the game. It was the first MMORPG I had ever played, an having tried quite a few since, as gameplay goes it probably still the best (ever present bugs notwithstanding).

I played NC for a few months, took a break, and then came back to it a few months back. I am now thinking about leaving again - despite the imminent arrival of BDOY, and do you know why?

BECAUSE THE COMMUNITY SUCKS.

KK seemed to have steered this game into such a minority niche as to mainly attract and keep people who basicaly enjoy the ability to wander around and gank completely noob characters, have a laugh, spraff on with some inane crap like 'hehe, i pwn j00', and then respond to any criticism of this behaviour by saying hey, its a pvp orientated game !!

I enjoy a bit of pvp, I enjoy joining a clan, trying to take and hold OP's, farting about with clan rivalries and such. However, getting gank'd by a Holy Lightning blast whilst killing Roaches with a stilletto is not pvp. Being unable to level in a low level dungeon because its full of capped chars taking pot shots at anyone and everyone is not pvp.

And don't start banging on about the LE, as it's plainly obvious KK do not and never have given it much consideration.

Shit, if u want to have a game centred on pvp you have to build a bloody game framework which will allow you to implement it properly. It seems ridiculous but it looks to have taken KK about a year to realise that alternative communities where never going to develop TG canyon or TH etc because they weren't safe zones.

The best thing that could happen to NC imo is for pvp to be restricted to war-zones, but I can see the forthcoming drivel about 'carebears' n shit that that idea will illicit.