PDA

View Full Version : Logical argument why to be continually fun an MMORPG must be PVP based

KRIMINAL99
01-02-04, 00:36
Ok each of these premises could be broken down into several smaller ones but rather than have 30 odd of them I just kept them in related paragraphs together. Im no expert at philosophical argument so if I broke any rules about what can be in premises someone feel free to let me know...

The point of organizing an argument this way is that if you disagree, all you have to do is pick a premise and say what you think is wrong with it and the discussion can be kept constructive and meaningful.

Premise 1: The game aspect of any video game (ie not the social aspect) is fun in psychological terms because the player enjoys approaching a point where they will be respected for their accomplishments, although not by any real or specific person.

Premise 2: Upon reaching that point, the sought after respect hardly ever manifests itself in reality for the majority of players. (I E through other real people recognizing the players achievments) At this point the game ceases to be fun.

Premise 3: The end point is reached when the player sees that additional effort will not progress him towards recieving more respect. In single player games this is when the game is beat because there is nothing respectable about doing that which you have already done. Single player games are given replayability by allowing for multiple drastically different ways of playing the game succesfully.