PDA

View Full Version : SATA advice

Ka0s^
04-01-04, 12:37
i have dual sata connecters on my board (NF7-s) if i choose to run just 1 sata drive will this work or do i need 2 to make a raid? i have no experience with multi HDs :lol: Also will XP pro detect the drive when i reinstall? O r will i need to run the SATA driver first? again i would have no idea how to do this. I plan on buying at least 1 SATA drive next staurday so any input will be greatly appreciated :)

Torteth
04-01-04, 12:59
First up, I'd remove that IP sig if I was you... been some controversy about it...

As for SATA drives, they are pretty much very similar to IDE drives.
If you plan on installing your OS Fresh onto the new drive, you may or may not need a floppy disk with the SATA drivers on it, which you put in when prompted during installation (at the very start). Otherwise its just smooth sailing.
And no you dont have to make a raid, the two channels are seperate entities, you can just run 1 single SATA Drive.
If you plan to ghost/clone your old install onto the SATA drive, you'll probably run into some problems, depending on how the motherboard handles the SATA drives... I had some issues with my Asus A7N8X... mainly because I dont have a floppy drive and was trying to make it install windows without the SATA drivers.... :P

ElfinLord
04-01-04, 13:00
I have a Seagate Barracuda 80 GB SATA HDD.

I run only one on XP Pro.

XP Pro did not detect my HDD when I installed. I had to press F6 to let it know that I needed to install drivers for my HDD.

After I did that and inserted the disk everything else went fine. I would imagine, as long as they are the same, which they should be, that you would only have to do it once.

As far as needing 2 is concerned, you only need 2 if you want to run a RAID. RAID is pretty cool for fault tolerance or performance.