PDA

View Full Version : Video card recommendation

Jest
27-12-03, 20:29
Well its time for the post Christmas shopping. Nothing like the holiday season to make you realize what you dont have. So today I think Im gonna upgrade my video card.

I currently have an Nvidia GForce4 MX. And despite being a computer programmer I am horribly inept at hardware. Can I get some recommendations? What could I upgrade to that would give me smokin hot graphics?

shodanjr_gr
27-12-03, 20:42
I just got my X-Mas present. Ati Radeon 9800 SE All-in-Wonder made by Hercules.

Its a lite version of the ATI radeon 9800 with onboard TV-Tuner and video editing capabilities.

I payed 270 euros for it which is not bad imho.

Downloading the latest Ati Drivers atm since the fucker crashed on Aquamark and the vegitation test :-)

sanityislost
27-12-03, 20:45
i just got a radeon 9200 256ddr AND ITS FUCKING GAY lol dont get one

Jest
27-12-03, 22:30
Hmmmm Ive never had a Radeon gfx card so Im a little hesitant to get one. What makes it better than the others?

Argent
27-12-03, 23:13
Originally posted by Jest
Hmmmm Ive never had a Radeon gfx card so Im a little hesitant to get one. What makes it better than the others?

They might not be better or faster than nVidias products (there are small variations of course, but right now with 5900-series nVidia is at par with ATI's 9800-series) but generally we can say that they give better value per buck.

And I know that somebody is gonna come and complain about ATI's drivers so I'll just say this now : It's BULLSHIT! ATI's drivers has been at least as good as nVidias as long as I've used ATI-card (which would be 1½ years).

Beanie McChimp
28-12-03, 02:52
I have a geforce fx 5200 and I have to say WOW it is amazing for £95 I may go as far as to say stuff buying one of those radeon 9800xt's or whatever the fuck the new one is.

Spectra260
28-12-03, 03:06