PDA

View Full Version : [OT] Need some help - connection problems

Jest
23-11-03, 04:40
I recently got DSL installed in the house and with that I bought a wireless base station and a wireless card for my comp. It was working really well for the first few days until another computer in the house also set up a wireless connection. Now everything is shot to hell.

It's odd because my connection is still fast. I can download stuff at the same speed I have always been able to, but it seems like the dsl is having a hard time switching between all the connections. For example I can't play Neocron. Half the time it tells me Server not found in the startup screen, the other half of the time it lets me log in for like 30 seconds before it starts syncing. Its the same for web pages. They either load instantly or don't load at all. Some times it loads like half of the images on the page too.

So first of all, what can I do to fix it? Did I set something up wrong? I'm new to wireless technology but I'm pretty sure this shouldn't be happening. I'll gladly answer any more questions that would help determining what I need to do. Its been driving me insane I haven't been able to play Cron for this entire week and I even reformated my computer to see if I could properly set it up.

Thanks in advance.

StryfeX
23-11-03, 06:51
I can't really help you much as I haven't really dealt with wireless a lot, but is your base station a router capable of handling more than one wireless connection? Does it do address translation (NAT)? What make and model is the card and base station?

I don't think I can help you much more than that, but I'm sure others can. With the right info, of course. ;)

--Stryfe

Jest
24-11-03, 18:19
Originally posted by StryfeX