PDA

View Full Version : [Brainport] n00b appreciation

-FN-
18-11-03, 03:08
In my shopping for a new MMORPG, I started playing Anarchy Online today. I joined up with a few other SXR members and we all were greeted by GM-typed players in our first 10 minutes (all in separate places).

Needless to say I was simply BLOWN AWAY that they even cared about new members. After asking them a few questions, each player apparently has a flag that GMs can check, greeted/ungreeted. If the player is still ungreeted, a GM-typed player is to greet them, ask them how they're doing, see if they can answer any questions, etc.

KK, take a hint ;)

RATE THE THREAD!

ghandisfury
18-11-03, 03:13
I agree.....I think we've lost about 80% of our *would be* players to the old MC5. If they only had a Mod stationed at MC5 untill it could be fixed we might have a much bigger player base. Anyhoo, 5 stars.

Jest
18-11-03, 03:14
Whoa awesome!!! They could even give certain players a sort of sub-GM status who wouldn't really have GM powers but could act as a greeter of sorts. Hell I have no interest in being a true GM but I'd definitely love to be able to greet new players and show them around and introduce them to the game. Geez that would help immensely.

Rento Webex
18-11-03, 03:15
I agree AO has a great community and with shadow lands it's getting even bigger, im thinking of starting an acount to see whats it's like but when I played it before, to be honest it bored the shit out of me.

-FN-
18-11-03, 03:16
Well I've also talked to many people who left because they didn't like the RPOS, the colours, or yes, they were confused by the MC5/n00b area.

The starting area has gotten some new signs tho that helps.

I saw a post awhile back about someone who sat over their friend's shoulder as they played NC for the first time. I'm going to be doing the same this week to see if anything else obviously unclear can be worked on...

Futureman
18-11-03, 03:26