PDA

View Full Version : [OT] Laptop Cleaning

Jesterthegreat
03-11-03, 14:37
ok people; As a few of you know i am a computer technician.

I have been handed a laptop to fix today. it has had a glass of Orange Squash poured over it (don't ask) and is not working. I have had a look, and cleaned off all the sticky drink from the outside, however from removing the battery and CD Drive i know that the drink has made its way inside the laptop. the keys are covered (and i am sure it has gone into the laptop under the keys).

i have washed the outside (carefully... not dunked it in water :p ) and whiped the screen down (water may not be best for an LCD screen... but its a hell of alot better than orange squash). i have not touched any connectors yet.

i have no cleaning materials at the moment. the power registers, the battery registers (both of these are dodgy however, sometimes it will see no battery and claim it is powered by mains for a second, then not for a second - continuing [even when not plugged in])

when powering up it makes a single beep at the bios screen, not a string of error beeps, however i believe it then stops. i say this because the LCD screen does not bring up any picture (before this point or after). however the sound stops and i do not hear it load from HDD, nor do i hear the windows intro sound.

i will prolly try a CRT monitor, but i am unsure if this is a wise idea if the connectors have orange on them.

any help would be greatly appriciated (FENIX! your tech support! help meh! :D )

Junkie

BiTeMe
03-11-03, 14:54
Step 1 is don't even try and turn it on untill all the juice is well and truely dry. Even then I would strip the laptop down as much as I could depending on the time you have for this. Keyboards are often quite easy to remove from laptops, but it does depend on who made it and what model it is.