PDA

View Full Version : [OT... very OT] problem with PC

Jesterthegreat
18-09-03, 13:00
ok peeps... this is a realy techy problem for you all... i am a computer technician and its giving me trouble

ok so i install a load of software on a pc (pc has been up and running for weeks / months). the only significant change is installing DirectX 9b. upon restarting after directx was done it hung after the windows splash.

i restarted and choose to boot from last known god config... to the same result. i tried booting up in safe mode (all the dif safe modes) and it locked up after agp440.sys.

looking around the net i found that this seems a simple problem, caused by adding hardware (i assumed DirectX changed enough to change drivers... and therefore indirecty change hardware?) so i loaded up windows XP repair sonsole, and disabled agp40.sys. in theory this meant that i would boot up fine, on Windows's own default VGA drivers.

however when i restart, i get the exact same problem... only this time it hangs on the file that loads just before agp440 would ; mup.sys

i found many (complex) ways to fix this, however i just disabled it in the same way i disabled agp40. the same thing happened ; the file just before the file i disabled made it hang.

i have now disabled 4-5 files (and i know which ones so i can reactivate if neded) and it always has the same result.

if anyone has had a similar problem or fels he/she could help in any way (i mean any way.. i'm baffled) plz feel free to reply

thanks all

NC Junkie

\\Fényx//
18-09-03, 13:02
Find a way to roll back DX9b (is that even possible?)

bit of a toughie there but it deffo seems like DX9b's causing the problem..

Jesterthegreat
18-09-03, 13:03
if only i could..

i cannot get into windows. last working config doesnt work... safe mode doesnt work...

if anyone knows a way in then plz feel free to post heh

Jesterthegreat
18-09-03, 13:09