PDA

View Full Version : Connection to gameserver via OS X



Nakomi43
02-05-16, 00:14
So I'm working on a wine wrapper for OS X to launch and play Neocron...

All goes well until connecting to the server, where I am presented with this error in the logs


WINSOCKMGR : Bind recv socket HostIP 0, Addr:42018058, Port:31337
WINSOCKMGR : Bind send socket HostIP 0, Addr:42018058, Port:31338
WINSOCKMGR : Bind recv socket HostIP 1, Addr:37212938, Port:31337
WNSOCKMGR : The requested address is a broadcast address, but the appropriate flag was not set. Call setsockopt with the SO_BROADCAST parameter to allow the use of the broadcast address.
WINSOCKMGR : Bind recv socket failed, Addr 37212938 Port:31337
GAMENETMGR : ConnectionMgr Join Session Failed

Exception created WORLDCLIENT : Connection failed : Another Neocron client is already running. Please restart your game client and specify a new local port in the Neocron Launcher configuration.

There is not another Neocron client running. Can @Zoltan take a look into the net code for this and possibly correct the issue so that Wine (Linux and OS X) will not need a work around to connect?

The work around was posted in the Neocron on Linux Wiki entry, but it does not work for OS X.

Thanks! Neocron on OS X would be a great way to expand your runner base.



Edit-

Also, poking around the NC files, it seems that player.ini has an interesting TutorialName filled in, didn't know if you were all calling your new players that name or not

Bifrost
02-05-16, 00:48
I'm afraid Neocron is only officially supported and developed on Windows OS. So it's unlikely there will be a fix.

However as you know, there are unofficial work around's to make Neocron work on Linux and other non-windows OS's. We do welcome your's and anyone else's efforts to post work arounds so long as it doesn't break the rules of conduct. (http://www.neocron-game.com/rules-of-conduct)


Also, poking around the NC files, it seems that player.ini has an interesting TutorialName filled in, didn't know if you were all calling your new players that name or not

That's an interesting little Easter egg. ;)

Nakomi43
02-05-16, 01:04
I'm afraid Neocron is only officially supported and developed on Windows OS. So it's unlikely there will be a fix.

However as you know, there are unofficial work around's to make Neocron work on Linux and other non-windows OS's. We do welcome your's and anyone else's efforts to post work arounds so long as it doesn't break the rules of conduct. (http://www.neocron-game.com/rules-of-conduct)

Aware of this, however the work around does not work on OS X. It is literally a Winsock issue with the net host connecting back to you guys that needs a tweak.


That's an interesting little Easter egg. ;)

Quite lol

Divide
02-05-16, 19:28
Change the game port in the launcher to 42424 and report back with this same clipping. Linux doesn't suffer this issue at all, it is a problem with OSX...most likely related to a firewall or security app.

Nakomi43
03-05-16, 00:52
Change the game port in the launcher to 42424 and report back with this same clipping. Linux doesn't suffer this issue at all, it is a problem with OSX...most likely related to a firewall or security app.


HostIP : 10.37.129.2
HostIP : 10.211.55.2
HostIP : 127.12.34.56
HostIP : 192.168.5.125
WINSOCKMGR : Bind recv socket HostIP 0, Addr:42018058, Port:42424
WINSOCKMGR : Bind send socket HostIP 0, Addr:42018058, Port:42425
WINSOCKMGR : Bind recv socket HostIP 1, Addr:37212938, Port:42424
WNSOCKMGR : The requested address is a broadcast address, but the appropriate flag was not set. Call setsockopt with the SO_BROADCAST parameter to allow the use of the broadcast address.
WINSOCKMGR : Bind recv socket failed, Addr 37212938 Port:42424
GAMENETMGR : ConnectionMgr Join Session Failed

Exception created WORLDCLIENT : Connection failed : Another Neocron client is already running. Please restart your game client and specify a new local port in the Neocron Launcher configuration.

Same, it is not happy with the network setup, the networking on this game needs a serious overhaul honestly...

Linux used to suffer this issue and you had to make a hosts file entry with your hostname and external IP, but this was fixed in some version of Wine.

Divide
03-05-16, 01:38
Linux had a problem connecting to the gameserver, but I don't know if there is really evidence to support this being the same problem.

How can I mimic this logging you are receiving? There isn't a reason why NC should utilize a broadcast address, so that error you are seeing hopefully is a red herring.

Bonus points for correlation of IP and network device/service if you can do so. Also, wireshark.

Divide
03-05-16, 03:03
You connect through HostIP : 10.37.129.2 and bomb @ HostIP : 10.211.55.2

See about putting that in your hosts file.

Nakomi43
03-05-16, 10:20
I believe those IP's are my VPN...


lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 16384
options=3<RXCSUM,TXCSUM>
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
gif0: flags=8010<POINTOPOINT,MULTICAST> mtu 1280
stf0: flags=0<> mtu 1280
en0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
options=6b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_HWTAGGING,TSO4,TSO6>
ether d8:cb:8a:14:ba:88
inet6 fe80::dacb:8aff:fe14:ba88%en0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x4
inet 192.168.5.125 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.5.255
nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
media: autoselect (1000baseT <full-duplex,flow-control,energy-efficient-ethernet>)
status: active
vnic0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
options=3<RXCSUM,TXCSUM>
ether 00:1c:42:00:00:08
inet 10.211.55.2 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.211.55.255
media: autoselect
status: active
vnic1: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
options=3<RXCSUM,TXCSUM>
ether 00:1c:42:00:00:09
inet 10.37.129.2 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.37.129.255
media: autoselect
status: active



I'll do some tracing later, it is 3:20 AM here right now so bed time for me

I'd just be playing through Parallels Desktop if the mouse would behave, but it won't, so I'd like to get this rolling through wineskin if all possible I guess.

Divide
03-05-16, 22:46
Looks like the game is trying to bind to multiple nics on the same port and is freaking. Try disabling your VPN interfaces momentarily to see if that alleviates anything. Long-term, not sure if there is a way to launch WINE with a specified nic attached but it seems possible.