PDA

View Full Version : The higher science of PvP - your conclusions

surreviver
14-05-10, 15:28
Hi guys,

as PvP is actually one of the core components and strengths of Neocron, I want to know about your fighting style. There are various aspects which form a good PvP player. At this point, I'm interested in your experiences as 1on1 fighters and random PvP players (no outpost fights). The classical street fights 7 years ago took place in Pepper Park 1 and now they have moved to Plaza 2. For my question, it doesn't matter which type of character you play (except droners). I wanted to know about general combat tactics and choices. So these are my points for a PvP fight:

player aiming (mouse control skill in connection with runner movement)
runner aiming (weapon lore/focussing as some chars can have better aiming subskills)
tactical movement
armor/resists setup
weapon choice

I've seen many fighters, who are playing very differently. That's why I'm studying the aspects of a good PvP tactic. Here are my thoughts for the points:

player aiming: depends on combat training and mouse setup (high DPI, good weight and so on). What interests me, is the question: do you fight in 1st person or 3rd person?

runner aiming: the point here is the difference of Tank and Spy/PE. As Tanks can't get up high in weapon lore (e.g. 87 for a capped Tank), their aiming needs to be different. Do you think this affects the personal combat skill? If yes, do you have special tactics for aiming with your preferred character?

tactical movement: this is one of the important points. I'm interested in your movement - do you use circle strafe or a special dodge technique? Or do you keep side strafing/crouching when fighting?