PDA

View Full Version : [OT] Nobby needs to learn... how to learn...

nobby
21-07-08, 23:23
Hello there,

I'm taking a LVL 4 japanese exam in December along with the class i teach at my college.

However i found a kind of dictionary of words that are specially needed for the exam. There's 727 words needed to be known and i currently don't have most of the vocabulary learned already.

The list is shown here, ---> http://www.jlptstudy.com/4/jlpt4_vocab-list.html

As you can see, the list is shown in japanese text.

I have no problem reading and understanding how the words are said, i merely require some pointers on best memorisation methods which could possibly help me.

As a psychology student, I shouldn't be asking this. But i wish to get a picture of what works for most.

Dribble Joy
22-07-08, 00:58
God my hiragana skillz have gone down the toilet of late....

I dunno dude, stick them around the house on random doors and stuff.

I really dunno, I've been getting the feeling recently my brain is dying. Knowing my luck I've got a tumour to pair up with the one that's probably growing in my lungs, can't think of anything else the pain on the right side is....

Hell-demon
22-07-08, 01:11
Get those flurescent post it notes and plaster them all over your bed room with phrases writ on 'em. You'll see them constantly all over your room, thus reinforcing the words.

Or just have lots of practical conversations in japanese. Learn quicker through doing.

Or just give up.

Do that. Go get some poon.

StevenJ
22-07-08, 01:32
I can remember things I've heard much better than things I've seen... I recorded lots of formulae for my physics exams, and that seemed to work ok.

With that many symbols to remember, when not all the essence can be captured in words ("up line, down line, wavey line across") I don't know how this will help, mind... though you did ask what others found useful :angel:

nabbl
22-07-08, 09:16
I always did it like that: