PDA

View Full Version : [OT] Computer Help

Matanius
08-06-08, 21:52
Hey guys. I'm looking to get a spanking new computer some point in the coming weeks. Now I'm not a complete noob when it comes to this but I am well aware that there are plenty of people here who know a hell of a lot more than I do so it seems wise to ask for help.

I'm looking for something that I can buy and not have to touch for a while. I'm not one of those who goes for all the latest games but it would be nice to have the choice to buy a new game with a high spec if I wanted to (something that I cannot currently do). I also want to have something that I can continue to upgrade for a number years (adding Ram/ extra or better GFX card) with minimal cost to myself. Would like to have a sound card and network card in there somewhere too, though not essential. Would at least like the option to have these things however.

Seems like a big ask I know and considering that I'm not entirely sure what my budget will be makes an even bigger task. Something as close to this as possible whilst staying under say....£800 (ABSOLUTE maximum, preferably less than that).

Oh, and just so you know, I only need the tower and components and OS. Don't need Monitor, Keyboard, Mouse or Speakers.

Thanks in advance,
Matan

P.S. Have had a wee look around myself. How does this (http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=FS-048-OK&groupid=43&catid=1081&subcat=&name=%22Ultima%20OC%208800GT%22%20Intel%20Core%202%20Quad%20Q6600%202.40GHz%20@%20QX6950+%203.30GHz+ %20Quad%20Core%20SILENT%20DDR2%20System) fair up?

Necpock
08-06-08, 22:08
It depends, you could go with a amd Phenom x2 chip (depending on which one you get, its considerable cheaper then cor 2 duo), you can pick up fairly box standard motherboards for 60 quid, I would got with a 8800 GT NVIDIA card.. or you could fork out a little more on the new 10 series to future proof.

4 gigs of ddr2 ram would be great, yyou can pick up faily good sets for 170 quid.