PDA

View Full Version : Special Ammo

Hutton
15-12-05, 21:39
How does this stuff work exactly?

I had a wasteland eagle pistol that I've chambered to fire depleted uranium ammo.

When I fire regular 9mm ammo [Piercing (35)] from this pistol, it does about 100 points of damage.

When I fire 9mm depleted uranium ammo [Piercing (35), X-Ray (25)] from the same pistol, it does about 20 points, plus another 15-20 over time.

Based on their stats, shouldn't the depleted uranium ammo do at least as much piercing damage as regular ammo, plus a little extra to mobs that aren't immune to X-Rays?

What am I missing?

Riddle
16-12-05, 12:15
OK i'm no expert and a bit battered from a heavy night :D but here we go.

What mob are you shooting in this test?
Each mob has resists generally in the type of damage they do i.e. Warbot has Xray resist.
If i shoot it with an xray weapon it will do less damage than say fire.

The uranium, like phosphor are DOT ammo so you probably get a combined effect over time of damage greater then the normal clip which does all the damage up front.

Also the DOT effect is increased with more hits so lets say i do 20 damage then 5 on each tick, i shoot again and do 20 damage and 10 each tick and so on till it caps the tick amount.

Fuck someone explain this its to hard i'm off to bed :lol:

Hutton
16-12-05, 17:51
I understand that some mobs are resistant to X-Ray damage. But the description of 9mm depleted uranium ammo says it does just as much piercing damage as regular 9mm ammo, in addition to x-ray damage. I assume the piercing damage is all done up front, so that initial hit should do the same amount of damage as regular ammo, even against mutants, shouldn't it?