PDA

View Full Version : I gank, therefore I am

Zeninja
05-11-05, 06:50
Hi,

I've been recently put on ignore by a person on Terra, after having sent her a PM, and I didn't have a clue of why she made this (well I'm new to Terra and I never had any trouble or even any discussion with her).

I asked her later (using an alt she couldn't know), but as a reply I just got some "stop harassing me or else I'll call a GM - muted". The only thing I said in that damn PM, was trying to suggest her it's some kind of weird running down on forums players who kill randomly allies when you're precisely adopting yourself willingly such behaviour ingame (which is a way of playing NC I dislike, but that I have to respect like many others).

So I supposed she did not appreciate me calling her a "ganker" ; though, this is the word I'm always using for calling allied faction killers (or wannabe killers in this case ^^). That's relatively new word for me, since I've never seen or even heard it anywhere before I played Terra. I never intended using this as an insult, but maybe I'm misusing it, like you readers could do without even knowing ?

English not being my mother tongue, I made a search on my dictionnary about the "gank" verb. I haven't found that word. So I tried using Google, and here is what I found :

gank v. to rob, rip off, or con (someone).

Categories: English United States. Associated with or special to the United States or American people, places, or things. United States. Crime & Prisons Drugs Slang

Editorial Note: See also gank, n.