PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts and opinons on SL/FS system

FatDogg
01-11-04, 07:42
Ok, I've had a few scuffles and brawls since I started playing Neocron oh so long ago and I have heard some complaints recently about the SL and FS system and PvP combat. I'm not sure I agree with alot of the statements people have made in the past from the PKers, Carebears, PvPers, Opfighters, Runners, and just plain gamers because I think most people have a skewed view on how the game is balanced and haven't tried to understand why the system works the way it does. So I decided to have an experiment.

This started when I gr to an unsafe place and see if I would get killed and additionally how many times I will get pked before these guys let me pass. Now these runners were obviously GR Camping waiting to pk guys and hack their stuff. All of them had red SL and where from the other city. Alot of peoples first thought is like jeez what asses these guys are. I just thought that its funny that these guys are like highway robbers murdering people for cash. I mean, combat characters get their money off of killing something and if they are "evil" by the reading from their soullight it makes sense that they would kill anything that gr'd in.

This brings me to my thoughts on what soullight means less in the RP sense and more in the sense of the fact that this game is supposed to be both an RPG and simultaeously FPSish. Bottom line is this: If you have red soullight for any reason other than from a bug you have chosen to be engaged in PvP at any time by any person. The FS loss for killing friendlies/neutrals is minimal (more on that point later) so you have blantantly told everyone that you are now a target to be blasted at with little to no reprocussions.