PDA

View Full Version : Construction help

minsc
30-07-04, 04:07
Anyone know any good guides that will tell me what the tech level is and that kind of stuff, thanks

Gohei
30-07-04, 04:11
neocron.ems.ru is still somewhat up to date....

seraphian
30-07-04, 05:18
What exactly do you need to know? I've been constructing for about 10 months now on 3 different chars, chances are I know the answer...

To answer the question you posted: Tech Level is a measure of the complexity of the item in question, it is important for several reasons:

For weapons and PA, the TL is the same as the base stat requirement to use the gear, IE a TL 30 assault rifle requires 30 dexterity to use, a TL3 heal requires 3 PSI, and so on.

It also determines the level of skill you need to research/construct/repair the item. Without a minimum skill equal to the tech level, you cannot work on the item, and without a skill equal to twice the TL you may fail (for research, implantand construct, repair works a bit differently) so in the above example, you need 30 research to make a blueprint of an Assault Rifle, but in order to ensure that you don't fail and break the datacube, you need at least 60 research skill.

For constructors, your skill compared to the TL (along with your dexterity, strength and intelligence compared to the TL, to a lesser degree, and not much at all for strength) determine the quality of the item you make, up to the capped statistics (not 100%, either 120% for rares, or around 94 for non-rares for some odd reason)

TL of an item you work on also determines the XP you get for the tradeskill, except for repair, again, because it's all messed up due to an exploit fix.

eric-the-ded
30-07-04, 05:41
again i have to say..
they really need to fix blueprints so that they show the actual tech level of the item.
instead of just saying TL 30 on everything from beggar nailguns to punisher drones.
that's kind of misleading to noobs and people with bad memory.

minsc
30-07-04, 07:06